• Hertford County Public Schools Employee Handbook

    Superintendent Dr. William T. Wright, Jr.

    “All In for Learning”



    Hertford County Public Schools, serving as a cornerstone of our community, will prepare graduates who are ready to meet the global challenges of education, career, and life. 


    Hertford County Public Schools, the choice for all families, provides a safe and caring environment, which empowers and graduates globally competitive students through diverse opportunities.


    “All In For Learning”


    Hertford County Public Schools Board of Education

    Sheila Porter, Chair

    Dennis Deloatch, Vice Chair

    J. Wendell Hall

    Eddie Hall

    Dr. James Shearn



     We Believe

                 All students can learn when given a safe, supportive, and caring environment that develops character.

                The success of our students depends on the commitment to high quality standards, expectations, performance, and continuous improvement.

                 Communication and collaboration are essential for developing literacy, enhanced student use of technology, and effective delivery of instruction.

                 Students will develop essential knowledge, apply their learning, and utilize technology as a tool to become career and college ready for an ever-changing global society.

                 Partnerships with parents, community, and institutions of higher education are vital to the success of our students.




    Information provided in the Hertford County Public Schools Employee Information Handbook is subject to change based upon the North Carolina General Assembly, State Board of Education, and Hertford County Public Schools Board of Education policies, laws, and amendments enacted during the current session and school year.  Those changes will supersede the information currently in the Employee Information Handbook.


    School Directory

    Ahoskie Elementary School

    Elenia Riddick, Principal

    Dee Dee Beverly, Assistant Principal

    Lorena Simons, Lead Secretary

    200 N. Talmadge Avenue

    Ahoskie, NC 27910

    (o) 252/332-2588

    (f) 252/332-2017


    Bearfield Primary School

    Julie Shields, Principal

    Cynthia Riddick, Assistant Principal

    Judy Mizelle, Secretary

    Andrea Gatling, Secretary

    145 Hertford County High Road

    Ahoskie, NC 27910

    (o) 252/209-6140

    (f) 252/209-6148

    Riverview Elementary School

    Lee Ford, Principal

    Terrell Deloatch, Assistant Principal

    Deborah Parker, Lead Secretary

    236 U 158 Business

    Murfreesboro, NC 27855

    (o) 252/398-4862

    (f) 252/398-3600



    Hertford County Middle School

    Crystal Phillips, Principal

    Richard Wright Jr., Assistant Principal

    Mary Johnson, Assistant Principal

    Vera Hall-Reid, Lead Secretary

    1850 Hwy 11 North

    Murfreesboro, NC 27855

    (o) 252/398-4091

    (f) 252/398-5570



    Early College High School

    Lyndsay Britt, Principal

    Judy Boone, Lead Secretary

    109 Community College Road

    Ahoskie, NC 27910

    (o) 252/332-7788

    (f) 252/332-5289




    Hertford County High School

    Dr. Jayson Leach, Principal

    Torrey Hines, Assistant Principal

    Deborah Brown, Assistant Principal

    Ronica Watford, Assistant Principal

    Denise Trotter, Lead Secretary

    1500 W. First Street

    Ahoskie, NC 27910

    (o) 252/332-4096

    (f) 252/332-1689

    C.S. Brown High School STEM

    Bobbie Jones, Principal

    Paula Burden, Lead Secretary

    102 CS Brown Drive

    Winton, NC 27986

    (o) 252/358-2852

    (f) 252/358-0121